Harkers

In a regal looking building on Victoria Square, Harker’s looms like an old bank.  There is a distinct impression that, like a bank, you need money to walk through the heavy front doors. Having just finished 9 hour shifts, we brave it.
Stat Sheet 11: Harker’s
$$$
Events:
Notes:

Kat: Care for a pint after work? Yes, I do. Ron and I literally choose the first pub we see after running our final work errand of the day. Inside, we walk straight to the bar and order a pint. I am hungry for dinner since I worked through supper time without eating. I purchase one of the mini “bar bites” offerings of chips for a nominal fee. Ron and I grab a seat in the window, overlooking Victoria Square (the soon-to-be home of the town Christmas tree). I remember that I got a text while we were leaving work, I check it, it’s from my housemate. He’s reminding me that we have Tuesday night standing plans to go to bingo. I tell Ron and he’s unconditionally into the idea. We down our pints much faster than expected and power walk to the bingo hall in record time…
Ron: I keep it simple and order a pint of John Smith’s thinking I would have time to sit an enjoy a slow pint.  This pub is as regal inside as it is out, and I always feel like a bit of an imposter here.  The bar staff are just friendly enough to rush Kat’s chips when we find out she had already made plans for the evening and need to rush out, to bingo of all places.  I begrudgingly sip my pint quickly, lest I make us miss the first round at Mecca.

Harker’s is a mainstay of the Pasty Shop after-work drinks, with many of the company’s social nights there.  The loyalty probably comes from the fact that although the pub isn’t amazing, there is simply nothing to complain about, and it beats searching out a more unfamiliar pub.
Cheers x x
Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

